Foodie Friday: Top 5 Recipe Books

Recipe books

It’s shaping up to be a rather chilly weekend here in Christchurch. I was planning on having a nice meal out with the BF, but I think instead we’re opting for a home cooked dinner in front of the fire instead. It got me riffling through my recipe books and I realised I have some real gems.
Here are my top five:

  1. The staple: The Edmonds Cookery Book
    Is there a kiwi home that doesn’t own a copy of this? The first edition was released way back in 1908 and many updated versions have been released since. My copy is a fully illustrated edition. As both a gift from Mum and the first cookbook I ever owned, it will always hold a special place in my heart. It’s great for all of the basics – banana bread, pikelets, Anzac biscuits you name it, it’s here.
  2. The one I grew up with: The Best of Alison Holst
    Confession time: this is one I’ve borrowed from Mum and haven’t returned yet. It is the cookbook she used the most when I was growing up. Alison is one of New Zealand’s most loved cooks and this features over 1000 of her most popular recipes. I haven’t tried all of them out but a week wouldn’t go by when I don’t have a flick through. I really should pick up my own…
  3. The baking one: Allyson Gofton, Bake 
    I’m much more of a baker than a chef so this gets a lot of love from me. I lent mine to a friend so I’ve pictured the Cook version instead #bloggingfail. It’s full of awesome easy to follow recipes but the thing that brings me back time and time again is the extra tips and tricks like how to resurrect baking disasters. An awesome one to pick up for beginners.
  4. The healthy option: Dr Libby’s Real Food Chef
    The reason I bought this book in the first place is thanks to a good friend of mine who is a nutritionist.   Not only does she personally swear by it, she recommends it to clients and uses recipes in their meal plans. Dr Libby’s philosophy is centred on raw unprocessed foods and that is what this book is filled with. My favourite are the brain balls, which make a delicious after-workout snack.
  5. The best in the business: Chelsea Winter, At My Table (and Everyday Delicious)
    I’m slightly cheating here by lumping two into one but both of Chelsea’s books are divine. At My Table is the one I have had the longest and have made almost every recipe in it; not a single one failed… na-da. The layout is both pretty and practical especially in Everyday Delicious where she uses food to write the chapter titles… gorgeous. I could go on forever so to spare you the details I’ll just direct you to her website where you can see taste for yourself.

Thanks for reading,
Maggie xx

4 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Top 5 Recipe Books

Leave a Reply

